Welcome to the ACS Shop

Welcome to the ACS’s online shop.

To view our publications, select a category from the white dropdown box in the sidebar on the left of this page (if you’re viewing this on a phone, it may be in the dropdown menu at the top).

PLEASE READ the note on payment at the bottom of this page, or on the checkout page. In brief, use the PayPal button, whether you have a PayPal account or not.

2022 Winter Journal

November 2022 sees the 200th issue of The Cricket Statistician, the quarterly ACS Journal. It’s come a long way since the typewritten six-page pamphlet edited by Robert Brooke (and Sue Norris) in 1973: No. 200 runs to 56 pages of text and illustrations. Our current editor, Simon Sweetman, examines the fate of the 19 players who scored 200 or more on first-class debut; Ric Finlay explains his Era Index (was Grace a more effective batter than Boycott, despite a lower average?); Peter Kettle evaluates proposals to reform batting averages by changing the way they incorporate not-outs; Andrew Thomas examines the career of England women’s captain and WCA president Mary Duggan; and much more. You can read two of its 22 book reviews here on on our website, as well as a sneak preview of one held over until February.

Ray Smith: Man of Essex, by John Broom

Also in November, the ACS is publishing two new volumes in the Lives in Cricket series – Ray Smith: Man of Essex and Norman O’Neill: Battling Great Expectations.

Ray Smith scored more than 10,000 runs and 1,000 wickets for Essex in a career spanning 1934 to 1956; he also captained a British Empire XI raising funds for charities during the war.

Norman O'Neill: Battling Great Expectations by Brian O'Sullivan

Norman O’Neill made his debut for New South Wales in 1955/56, and was hailed by Wally Hammond as ‘the best batsman in the world since the Second World War’ – but comparisons to Bradman did not help him, and injuries ended his career when he was only 30.

Norman O’Neill, expected to be available in late November, is also available in a discounted package with Mark Rowe’s Young Bradman.

Pakistan 1987/88 to 1989/90

The tenth volume of our ‘Hard to Get’ series, providing scorecards of first-class matches difficult to obtain in print, covers three eventful seasons in Pakistan 1987/88 to 1989/90, during which over 200 matches were played.

Overseas First-Class Annual 2022

And the 14th edition of the Overseas First-Class Annual gives the full scores of all 319 first-class matches played outside England and Wales in the 2021/22 and 2022 seasons, together with league tables and brief accounts of each country’s first-class season. Both these books are expected to be available in late November.

The ABC Tour: The South American Tour to Britain 1932, by Keith Walmsley

During the summer, the ACS launched a new series on Cricket Tours, beginning with Keith Walmsley’s The ABC Tour: The South American tour to Britain in 1932, which tells the story of a team of cricketers from Argentina, Brazil and Chile who played six first-class matches in the UK 90 years ago.

Cricket in Barham: Two hundred years of play in a Kentish village by Mark Chaloner

In Cricket in Barham: Two hundred years of play in a Kentish village, Mark Chaloner examines the history of one village club which played from 1813 to 2014, and the light it casts on the wider contexts of village life and the changing fortunes of the game in East Kent (currently out of stock but available from the author).

A Game Emerging: Yorkshire cricket before the coming of the All England Eleven

Earlier this year, in A Game Emerging: Yorkshire cricket before the coming of the All England Eleven, Jeremy Lonsdale extended his acclaimed series on Yorkshire cricket back to the 1750s, as he examines how cricket spread in Yorkshire before the arrival of William Clarke’s All England Eleven in 1846 transformed the game . A Game Emerging is also available in a discounted package with A Game Taken Seriously, which covers Yorkshire cricket in the second half of the 19th century.

George Thompson: A Very Useful Man, by Andrew Radd

Andrew Radd’s George Thompson: A Very Useful Man has proved a popular book in the Lives in Cricket series. It’s the story of a ‘copper-bottomed local-sporting hero’ who propelled Northamptonshire into the County Championship before the First World War.

Minor Counties 1895-1914

The Minor Counties Championship 1895-1914 rounds off our series on the early ‘second-class’ competition by summarising the first 20 years of the Minor Counties Championship, and is also available in three discounted packages: Package A, with The Minor Counties Championship 1910, Package B, with The Minor Counties Championship 1911, or Package C, with both 1910 and 1911.

ACS International Cricket Year Book 2022: 37th edition

The ACS International Cricket Year Book 2022 is now available, and for the second year running the price has dropped, reflecting the fact that less cricket was played in 2020-21 because of the pandemic.

Second Eleven Annual 2022

Following a year off after the Covid-19 pandemic wiped out the Second Eleven competitions in 2020, the Second Eleven Annual 2022 resumes this popular series, providing potted scores for the Second Eleven matches of 2021 and biographical details on the players who appeared in them.

Discounts are still available on some recent Second Eleven Annuals, and on packages of Second Eleven Annuals for 2016 to 2019 and for 2016 to 2020; on Dorset Cricketers, Suffolk Cricketers, and a package combining both volumes; and on First-Class Cricket Matches 1952.

All books published in the last year which remain in stock appear under Latest Publications.

Some of our older publications are now being made available via Google Play, including four from the Cricket Witness series and 29 Lives in Cricket.

Note on payment: When you reach the checkout, please select the PayPal button even if you don’t have a PayPal account, and not the credit card logos beneath it. You can then select the second option, ‘Create an Account’, which does not require you to create an account – choose the Guest Checkout option and then ‘Continue as Guest’ rather than creating an account (unless you want to!)

If you’re buying a single item or package, you can hit the PayPal button on that page, rather than ‘Add to Cart’. This means the second option offered should be ‘Pay with Debit or Credit Card’ which will lead to the Guest Checkout option, as above.